RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Minutes of

Etna Township Zoning Commission

0283 Meeting

DAYTON LEGAL BLANK, INC., FORM NO. 10148		
	March 14,	2023
Held		20

The Etna Township Zoning Commission met on March 14, 2023, in the Etna Township Hall for the purpose of conducting a regular meeting. The meeting was called to order at 6:03 p.m. by Chair McIntyre. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. A prayer was said in memory of Roger Hayes. Roll call showed the following members present: Shelly Marie Ipacs, Dave Olson, Litichia McIntyre, Josh DiYanni, Steven Smith, and clerk Laura Brown.

Josh DiYanni moved to adopt the agenda as amended to add under New Business Organizational Procedures for 2023. The motion was seconded by Steven Smith and passed without objection.

Announcements – None

Minutes

Dave Olson moved to waive the public reading and to approve the minutes from the February 28, 2023, as presented. The motion was seconded by Josh DiYanni and passed without objection.

Public Hearing

Chair McIntyre opened the public hearing for the application submitted by Sharon Lantz for parcel number 010-017652-00.000 located on Refugee Road west of Watkins Road to rezone from Planned Unit Development to Low Density Residential District (R-1) with the Planned Residential Conservation District at 6:07 p.m.

The application was submitted to the Licking County Planning Commission (LCPC) on February 13, 2023. The public hearing notice was advertised in the Newark Advocate and the letters were mailed to adjacent property owners on March 3, 2023. The information was also emailed to the Homeowners' Association to be distributed.

The Licking County Planning Commission met on February 27, 2023 and the staff and Planning Commission both had a non-binding recommendation to approve the zoning amendment application with the conditions as detailed in the LCPC Staff Report and letter.

Assistant Zoning Inspector Freddie Latella reviewed the township Staff Report. The staff recommends approval of the re-zoning to R-1 with the PRCD Overlay.

Sharon Lantz, applicant, was present for any questions. Ms. Lantz explained she wants to build a house on this property and does not want to be a part of the Planned Unit Development.

Freddie Latella stated under the current zoning sixty-three homes could be built.

Public Comments - none

Chair McIntyre moved to close the public hearing at 6:15 p.m. The motion was seconded by Josh DiYanni and passed without objection.

Dave Olson explained the Zoning Commission will make a recommendation to the Board of Trustees who will have a public hearing.

Chair McIntyre moved to recommend to the Board of Trustees to approve the application submitted by Sharon Lantz for parcel number 010-017652-00.000 located on Refugee Road west of Watkins Road to rezone from Planned Unit Development to Low Density Residential District (R-1) with the Planned Residential Conservation District. The motion was seconded by Dave Olson. Discussion: The Planned Residential Conservation District will remain on the property. The motion passed by unanimous affirmative vote.

New Business - None

Public Comments -

Gary Burkholder of 254 Trail East is a member of the Citizen Advisory Committee for the Land Use Plan and he inquired when the Zoning Commission will resume working on the NAICS Codes. They are currently working on completing the Final Draft of the Land Use Plan which will be forwarded to the Zoning Commission.

Chair McIntyre stated the commission should be resuming the work session on the NAICS Codes in April. The commission is currently working on General Business, Local Business, and Accommodation Business Districts.

RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Minutes of Meeting Etna Township Zoning Commission			
DAYTON LEGAL BLANK, INC., FORM NO, 10148			
	March 14, 2023 Held20	,	
	Organizational Procedures for 2023		
The meeting was turned over to the clerk Laura Brown for the election of the chairman.			
	Dave Olson nominated Litichia McIntyre for Chair. There were no other nominations.		
	The vote was Shelly Ipacs, McIntyre; Dave Olson; McIntyre; Litichia McIntyre, McIntyre; Josh DiYanni, McIntyre; and Steven Smith, McIntyre; Litichia McIntyre will serve as the Chair for 2023.		
The meeting was turned back over to Chair McIntyre.			
	Litichia McIntyre nominated Dave Olson for Vice Chair. There were no other nominations. The vote was Shelly Ipacs, Olson; Dave Olson, Olson; Litichia McIntyre, Olson; Josh DiYanni, Olson; and Steve Smith, Olson; Dave Olson will serve as the Vice-Chair for 2023.		
	The Technical Review Board for 2023 will be Jan/Feb/March – Roger and Litichia; April/May/June – Dave and Steven; July/August/September – Josh and Litichia; and Oct/Nov/Dec – Dave and Steven.		
	Steven Smith moved to adopt Roberts Rules of Order for the meeting rules. Shelly Ipacs seconded the motion and it passed without objection.		
	Josh DiYanni moved to place public notices in the Pataskala Post or Pataskala Standard and use the Newark Advocate when there are time constraints. The motion was seconded by Steven Smith and passed without objection.		
	Litichia McIntyre moved to adopt the Administrative Procedure as follows: A Zoning Amendment Application shall be considered to be filed with the Zoning Commission when the applicant has filed the application with the Clerk of the Zoning Commission. The clerk shall proceed with the zoning amendment process as outlined in Article 6 of the Etna Township Zoning Resolution. The foregoing procedure shall in no way prevent an applicant from filing a zoning amendment application with the Zoning Commission during a public meeting. The motion was seconded by Dave Olson. The motion passed without objection.		
	Dave Olson moved to appoint Laura Brown as the Zoning Commission Clerk with an hourly rate equal to that established for her duties as township secretary by the Board of Trustees. The motion was seconded by Steven Smith and passed without objection.		
	The Zoning Commission discussed whether to remain with the meeting night being Tuesday evening or moving it. Josh DiYanni has conflicts with Tuesday and Thursday. The commission discussed moving the meeting night to Wednesday. Josh DiYanni will let the board know if it will work or if he is resigning. At this time, it will remain on Tuesday.		
	Steve Smith moved to approve the regular meetings be held on the second and fourth Tuesday at 6:00 p.m. The motion was seconded by David Olson and passed without objection.		
Old Business – None			
Public Comments – done previously in the meeting.			
Josh DiYanni moved to adjourn at 6:36 p.m. The motion was seconded by Steven Smith and passed without objection.			
	Laura Brown, Clerk Litichia McIntyre, Vice-Chair	-	

Laura Brown, Clerk

0284

Litichia McIntyre, Vice-Chair