RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Minutes of Meeting

Etna Township Trustees Special Meeting

Held December 13, 2014

The Etna Township Board of Trustees met on Saturday, December 13, 2014 in the Etna Township Administration Building. The meeting was called to order at 7:30 a.m. by President Carlisle. Jeff Johnson led the invocation and Roger Digel-Barrett led The Pledge of Allegiance. The roll call showed Trustees Jeff Johnson, John Carlisle, Randy Foor, and Fiscal Officer Walter Rogers present.

Trustee Johnson moved to adopt the agenda as presented. The motion was seconded by Trustee Foor and passed by unanimous affirmative vote.

Public Comments

DAYTON LEGAL BLANK, INC., FORM NO. 10148

Roger Digel-Barrett of 533 Ballman Road discussed some recreational vehicles, trailers, and cars that have expired license. The township checked and the vehicles are in driveways. Roger Digel-Barrett stated the Zoning Resolution requires the recreational vehicles be located in the rear of the property. Rob Platte will follow-up with Roger Digel-Barrett.

Old Business

Dispose of the Copier

Trustee Foor moved to remove the copier from the township inventory and donate it to the West Licking Historical Society. The motion was seconded by Trustee Johnson and passed by unanimous affirmative vote.

New Business

Memberships and Fees

Rob Platte provided information on memberships and fees from 2014. The Trustees agreed on the Ohio Township Association, Pataskala Area Chamber of Commerce, Mid-Ohio Regional Planning (MORPC), and Pesticide License. The Trustees discussed the MORPC seminars which are in addition to board meetings. The Trustees discussed the Ohio Parks and Recreation Association (OPRA) and National Recreation and Parks Association (NRPA) membership fees. The NRPA offers certifications. The CPNI is for playground equipment inspections. If you are a member of NRPA you get a discount on license. Rob Platte stated at this point in time the township does not use the data base and the township does not have any playground equipment to inspect. Trustee Foor stated these memberships were discussed when Rob Platte was hired. Rob Platte wanted to be a part of the Pataskala Rotary Club and did not have expectations for township to pay for it. In 2014 Rob Platte paid the fee and listed himself as the Etna Township Administrator. After discussion, Rob Platte will continue to pay the fee and if he uses the title of Etna Township Administrator he acknowledged he will be representing the township. The memberships and fees will be addressed at the organizational meeting in January.

2015 Budget and Permanent Appropriations

F/O Rogers presented the draft 2015 Budget and Permanent Appropriations. The estimated carryover is approximately 2 million. Walter Rogers will be breaking out the road expenses different in 2015 to better track the cost for roads. Trustee Carlisle discussed the Road Departments needs with Mike Waller. Mike Waller felt that the repairs on the back hoe last year would get the township through a couple more years. Mike Waller would recommend a new building. The past two years budgets had appropriations for a new garage. The old garage could be used for repairs. The new garage would house the equipment. Walter Rogers discussed borrowing the money for the garage. The Trustees discussed paving roads this year. Trustee Carlisle has discussed with Licking County using the new garage as an emergency relief building for a disaster and there might be funds available for the garage. The Trustees could also go to the JEDZ Board for help. The township could act as the general contractor to save money on the building. Walter Rogers will move the money over to the building account and adjust the budget accordingly. Walter Rogers will revise the budget and present it to the Trustees at their next meeting.

Trustee Carlisle reported that the Ohio Department of Transportation is not replacing the road signs at the intersections of township roads anymore.

Trustee Foor moved to adjourn at 8:42 a.m. The motion was seconded by Trustee Johnson and passed by unanimous affirmative vote.

John Carlisle, President

Walter Rogers, Fiscal Officer